Governor J.B. Pritzker has been actively appointing agency directors and staff to his administration. The appointments and hires are as follows:

State Agency Directors (Pending Senate Approval)

John Sullivan, director of the Illinois Department of Agriculture (IDOA)

Janel L. Forde, director of the Illinois Department of Central Management Services (CMS)

Erin Guthrie, director of the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO)

Alicia Tate-Nadeau, director of the homeland security and the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA)

John Kim, director of the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA)

Theresa Eagleson, director of the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services (HFS)

Jim Bennett, director of the Illinois Department of Human Rights (IDHR)

Heidi Mueller, director of the Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice (IDJJ)

Michael Kleinik, director of the Illinois Department of Labor (IDOL)

David Harris, director of the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR)

Alexis Sturm, director of the Governor's Office of Management and Budget (GOMB)

Matt Perez, Illinois Fire Marshal

Governor's Office Staff Hires

Anne Caprara, chief of staff

Sol Flores, deputy governor

Dan Hynes, deputy governor

Christian Mitchell, deputy governor

Jesse Ruiz, deputy governor

Nikki Budzinski, senior adviser

Ann Spillane, general counsel

Emily Bittner, deputy chief of staff for communications

Jordan Abudayyeh, press secretary

Sean Rapelyea, deputy chief of staff for external affairs

Tiffany Newbern-Johnson, deputy chief of staff for legislative affairs

Governor Alters Compensation Levels for State Employees

Governor Pritzker took additional actions related to staffing, particularly in the realm of compensation. The Governor signed legislation into law allowing him to pay salaries up to 15% higher to directors and assistant directors at key state agencies (P.A. 100-1179).

Additionally, the Governor has elected to increase the compensation of certain staff members using his own personal funds. He also signed an Executive Order prohibiting state employers from requesting the salary history of prospective employees (EO 2019-2). This order only applies to state agencies, but legislation has been introduced in recent years to extend this prohibition to all Illinois employers.

The Governor also reinstated step increases for unionized state workers. These pay increases had been suspended during the previous administration.

  • Joe McCoy

Updated: Jan 14, 2019

I had the privilege of attending a brief National Council of County Association Executives (NCCAE) conference in Washington, D.C. from January 9-11. NCCAE is an organization created by the National Association of Counties (NACo) to facilitate learning and networking opportunities for state association executive directors.

The conference agenda included updates from NACo staff concerning the organization's 2019 federal legislative agenda, briefings from members of Congress and White House personnel and an update on the status of state and local government litigation against opioid manufacturers and distributors. The conference concluded with a visit to the United States Capitol Building for a briefing presented by the staff of Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-California).

State county association executive directors pause for a picture on the Speaker's Balcony of the United States Capitol Building following a legislative briefing presented by the staff of Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-California).

NACo conferences and events present valuable opportunities for county officials and support staff to network and increase their knowledge base. I would encourage Illinois county officials to register for NACo's 2019 Legislative Conference to be held March 2-6 in Washington D.C.

  • Joe McCoy

The Illinois State Association of Counties (ISACo) is committed to providing timely news and information of interest to Illinois' counties. These updates will be posted and archived here. We hope you will visit our website and this blog frequently and find the information of value.


Address:  427 E. Monroe Street

                Suite 200
                Springfield, IL 62701
Phone:     (217) 679-3368


  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean