Property Tax Relief Task Force

Public Act 101-0181 created a Property Tax Relief Task Force. The new law became effective on August 2, 2019.

The mission of the Task Force is to "utilize a racial and economic equity lens to identify the causes of increasingly burdensome property taxes across Illinois, review best practices in public policy strategies that create short-term and long-term property tax relief for homeowners, and make recommendations to assist in the development of short-term and long-term administrative, electoral, and legislative changes needed to create short-term and long-term property tax relief for homeowners."

The Task Force is required to submit a final report to the Governor and the General Assembly outlining short-term and long-term administrative, electoral, and legislative changes needed to create short-term and long-term property tax relief for homeowners by December 31, 2019.

The legislation creating the Task Force is available via this link.

The Task Force released its draft report in January 2020. The draft report is available via this link.

Task Force Membership

There are 90 members of the Property Tax Relief Task Force and the Task Force is supported by 7 subcommittees. These subcommittees are as follows:

  • Assessments and Exemptions 

  • Government Consolidation 

  • Social and Economic Disparities 

  • School Funding and School Property Taxes

  • Local Pensions

  • PTELL and Governments' Tax Levy

  • TIF Districts

The lists of appointed members of the Task Force and each subcommittee are available via this link.

ISACo Interaction with Task Force 


Address:  427 E. Monroe Street

                Suite 200
                Springfield, IL 62701
Phone:     (217) 679-3368


  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean